

President: Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund Executive Director: Dr. Jean-Claude Worms

2 place Maurice Quentin, 75039 Paris Cedex 01, France • Tel: +33 (0)1 44.76.74.41 cospar@cosparhq.cnes.fr • https://cosparhq.cnes.fr

5 May 2023

COSPAR AWARDS/MEDALS

From 2018 the IAU has named an asteroid for each COSPAR award recipient. The number of the asteroid appears below in parentheses.

COSPAR SPACE SCIENCE AWARD

The COSPAR Award honors a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to space science. All scientists working in any field covered by COSPAR are eligible for this award.

Previous recipients:

2022	James W. Head, III (10110)	2010	Steven W. Squyres	1998	Marcia Neugebauer
2022	Alan Title	2008	George Gloeckler	1996	Norman F. Ness
2020	William J. Borucki (7864)	2008	Ken Pounds	1996	Minoru Oda
2020	Ken McCracken (8258)	2006	Eberhard Gruen	1994	Gerhard G. Haerendel
2018	Jean-Pierre Bibring (18113)	2006	Atsuhiro Nishida	1994	Joachim E. Trümper
2018	Bruce T. Tsurutani (6313)	2004	Jacques E. Blamont	1992	Edward C. Stone Jr.
2016	Charles L. Bennet	2004	Vasily I. Moroz	1990	John A. Simpson
2016	Anatoly I. Grigoriev	2002	Stamatios M. Krimigis	1988	Konstantin I. Gringauz
2014	David J. McComas	2002	Christopher T. Russell	1988	S.L. Mandelshtam
2014	Jean-Loup Puget	2000	Roger M. Bonnet	1986	Ludwig F. Biermann
2012	Janet Luhmann	2000	Donald M. Hunten	1984	James A. Van Allen
2010	Günther Hasinger	1998	Catherine Cesarsky		

COSPAR INTERNATIONAL COOPERATION MEDAL

This medal is awarded to a scientist who has made distinguished contributions to space science and whose work has contributed significantly to the promotion of international scientific cooperation. All scientists working in any field covered by COSPAR are eligible for this medal. This medal may also be awarded to a group of scientists.

Previous recipients:

2022	WU Ji (10118)		Yves Ménard	1994	Ranjan R. Daniel
2020	John Z. Kiss (8267) and	2008	Marvin A. Geller	1992	Hubert Curien
	F. Javier Medina (8333)	2006	Raymond A. Greenwald	1990	Bengt Hultqvist
2018	Stas Barabash (6315)	2004	Stephen S. Holt	1988	Cornelis de Jager
2016	Lev Zelenyi	2002	André Brack	1986	The Inter-Agency
2014	Carlé McGetchin Pieters	2000	John H. Carver		Consultative Group
2012	Roger-Maurice Bonnet	1998	Reimar Lüst	1984	Roald Z. Sagdeev
2010	Lee-Lueng Fu and	1996	Anatoli I. Grigoriev		•



COSPAR WILLIAM NORDBERG MEDAL

This medal commemorates the work of the late William Nordberg and is awarded to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the application of space science in a field covered by COSPAR.

Previous recipients:

2022	Gerda Horneck (10133)	2010	Kuo-Nan Liou	1996	Charles Elachi
2022	Joyce E. Penner	2008	Joe Waters	1994	Pierre Morel
2022	Daniel J. McCleese (5641)	2006	John P. Burrows	1992	John Theodore Houghton
2018	Christoph Reigber (6314)	2004	Louis J. Lanzerotti	1990	Desmond G. King-Hele
2016	Gordon G. Shepherd	2002	Moustafa Chahine	1988	S. Ichtiaque Rasool
2014	Mikhail Ya. Marov	2000	Kenichi Ijiri		
2012	Herbert Fischer	1998	Anne M. Thompson		

COSPAR MASSEY AWARD

This award honors the memory of Sir Harrie Massey, FRS, past Physical Secretary of the Society and past member of the COSPAR Bureau. The award consists of a gold medal and a prize of 500 guineas. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the development of space research, interpreted in the widest sense, in which a leadership role is of particular importance. These are the only requirements, and the award is open to all candidates from any country.

Previous recipients:

2022	Pascale Ehrenfreund (9826)	2010	Harvey Tananbaum	2000	Stuart C. Bowyer
2020	Alexander Held (8479)	2008	Giovanni G. Fazio	1998	Rashid A. Sunyaev
2018	John Zarnecki (17920)	2006	Charles Elachi	1996	Johannes Geiss
2016	Fiona A. Harrison	2004	Yasuo Tanaka	1994	Robert Wilson
2014	Eugene Churazov	2002	Giovanni Bignami	1992	Herbert Friedman
2012	Neil Gehrels	2002	Jacques Paul	1990	Hendrik C. van de Hulst

Nominations for the four awards above must be signed or endorsed by a COSPAR Bureau member, a representative of a COSPAR National or Scientific Union member, a member of the COSPAR Scientific Advisory Committee, a COSPAR Scientific Commission or Panel chair or vice-chair, or by a previous recipient of a COSPAR honor (except Zeldovich Medal or Outstanding Paper Award).

COSPAR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE MEDAL

This medal recognizes extraordinary services rendered to COSPAR over many years.

Previous recipients:

2022 2020	Willem Hermsen (10135) Jean-Louis Fellous (8617)	2010 2008	Margaret Ann Shea Isaac Révah	1993 1992	Jean-François Denisse Zdzislaw Niemirowicz
2018	Mariano Méndez (6316)	2001	Stanislaw Grzedzielski		
2016	David Halpern `	1996	Richard C. Hart		
2012	Peter Willmore	1994	Antal J. Somogyi		

Nominations for the Distinguished Service Medal must be signed or endorsed by a member of the COSPAR Bureau.

Nominations for the five awards above will be considered by an Awards Committee appointed by the Bureau. After considering the recommendations of the Awards Committee, the Bureau will make a final selection.

JOINT AWARDS/MEDALS

VIKRAM SARABHAI MEDAL

This medal is awarded by the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) in honor of Vikram Sarabhai, considered one of the architects of modern India. The medal is awarded for outstanding contributions to space research in developing countries. For a candidate to be eligible for this award, her or his relevant work must have been carried out mainly in the five year period ending one year before the COSPAR Scientific Assembly at which the medal is to be presented. This award is open to candidates from any country.

Previous recipients:

2022	Christine Amory-Mazaudier	2008	Mangalathayil A. Abdu	1994	Jacques E. Blamont
2020	Alexi Glover	2006	Marcos E. Machado	1992	CY. Tu
2018	Qiugang Zong	2004	A. Peter Willmore	1990	Vladimir A. Kotelnikov
2016	Kohei Arai	2002	Ronglan Xu		
2014	Gurbax Singh Lakhina	2000	Zhen-Xing Liu		
2012	Rafael Navarro-Gonzalez	1998	D. James Baker		
2010	Zuyin Pu	1996	U.R. Rao		

JEOUJANG JAW AWARD

The Jeoujang Jaw Award, bestowed jointly by the Chinese Academy of Sciences and COSPAR, recognizes scientists who have made distinguished pioneering contributions to promoting space research, establishing new space science research branches and founding new exploration programs.

2022	No award	2016	Cheng Fang	2010	Calvin T. Swift
2020	Wing-Huen Ip	2014	Sir Martin Sweeting FRS	2008	James L. Burch
2018	Sergey K. Krikalev	2012	Robert P. Lin		

Nominations for joint awards must be signed or endorsed by a COSPAR Bureau member, a representative of a COSPAR National or Scientific Union member, a member of the COSPAR Scientific Advisory Committee, a COSPAR Scientific Commission or Panel chair or vice-chair, a member of the sponsoring Academy or Agency, or by a previous recipient of a COSPAR honor (except Zeldovich Medal or Outstanding Paper Award).

Nominations for the two joint awards above will be reviewed by the COSPAR Awards Committee. The Bureau will submit a short list of candidates, in order of preference, to the relevant Academy or Agency stating the total number of candidates and explaining the reasons for ordering the list as presented.

All nominations shall consist of:

- a filled in nomination form signed by a person authorized to nominate,
- a curriculum vitae with a general description of the space research activity of the nominee, and
- a list of significant, selected publications, not more than about 20. The publications most relevant to the award should be clearly identified.

All nominations must reach the COSPAR Secretariat no later than end November of the calendar year <u>preceding</u> the Scientific Assembly, i.e., 30 November 2023 for the Assembly in 2024.