Life Sciences in Space Research Celebrates the Recent Recognition of Editorial Board Members

Henry S. Kaplan Distinguished Scientist Award

Dr. Marco Durante, associate editor of Life Sciences in Space Research, was recognized by the International Association for Radiation Research (IARR) with the Henry S. Kaplan Award at the 17th meeting held from August 27th -30th in Montreal, Canada.  The IARR established the Henry S. Kaplan Distinguished Scientist Award in 1985 to honor outstanding contributions of individuals to the field of radiation research in physics, chemistry, biology, or medicine.   Marco joined the editorial board of LSSR since its inception in 2014 and is currently the Director of the Biophysics Department, GSI Helmholtz Center for Heavy Ion Research in Darmstadt and a full professor of Physics at the Technical University of Darmstadt and at the University of Naples Federico II in Italy. Marco has won many awards including the  2020 Failla Award from the U.S. Radiation Research Society and the 2013 Bacq and Alexander Award from the European Radiation Research Society.

Radiation Research Inaugural Fellow

In addition, two other editors, Drs. Tom Hei and Francis Cucinotta were elected Inaugural Fellow of the Radiation Research Society at the RRS/ ICRR meeting in Montreal, Canada this year.  The RRS Fellow recognizes its members for their significant contributions within the field of radiation research.

Congratulations to our distinguished editors !